Team 9-Ball Complexities

So, I have officially developed a complex when it comes to playing Team 9-ball. I don’t know what it is, but I play lights-out all through-out the week and then bomb team 9-ball. Is it the pressure of letting my team down, or Lou watching me or trying to meet the expectations people have for me. I don’t know, but I have to get a grip and fix it.

Saturday – Wednesday.

I would get to a table and honestly feel one with a table. I could see the layout of exactly what I had to do and could accomplish it within relatively respectable results. I took difficult shots and easy shots both in the same strides. My mental awareness of myself, my demeanor, my intensity all were in sync. I felt as though I couldn’t miss and the few times I did miss, I walked away knowing exactly what I had done wrong and vowing not to do it again. I think I was further driven to succeed by the improvement of my break. Who knew that the appearance of power by SMASHING the first cluster of balls could develop into an all out overwhelming sense of confidence in running the rest of the rack. It felt good.

Then Thursday ….

I felt nervous, unsure and defeated almost immediately, even though I took a 2 – 0 lead. I can’t explain it. I feel like I know so much about this game already in the very short amount of time I have been learning it, yet sometime I feel like a lost puppy on a table. The mind is such a powerful weapon or weakness. I must learn to fight harder and more determined when I am down in a set. It appears lately I feel I have already lost when I am losing a set. I have to let them know, “Oh, I’m not going down without a fight. You gotta earn this buddy!”

So talked to Stu on the phone for a bit. He said something very interesting to me that I want to remember.

“Never let the person you are playing, change the way you play this game. Play at your speed and ability no matter what.”

He said too many up and coming players play the pros and adjust their game to however their opponent plays thus changing their strengths and exposing their weaknesses. I must keep that in mind when I play anyone I feel is higher in handicaps than I am.

Off to practice this weekend.

No tourneys or anything big is happening anytime soon, so it’s just practice practice practice. Lauren comes into town in September and I am really excited about that!

Posted in Billiard Life, Personal

~ by g2 on March 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
