Getting Stronger…..

kod Negativity is an infectious plague….jealousy it’s disperser. Insecurity the weakened immune system while gained confidence the only antidote.

“The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!” <-Rocky Balboa

I tend to get into a particular movie and ride it’s inspirational message like a mantra horse for a rodeo-while. I learn the lesson and I find a new horse. TR introduced me to the Rocky series in the last year and I’m still an addict.

(Yes, it was a very large boulder I lived under for the first 25 years of life!)

I like it’s positive message. I like the friendships that grow. I like the love story. I like the relentless fight and I like the means-to-the-ends methods prevalent throughout the series. Good wins out over evil.

The world is far from rosy … and yes I rock my pink colored glasses  to an obnoxious degree to some but I just want to be happy and I like to see other people happy and succeed and it aggravates me to see others who detest the success of someone and prey on those people’s sense of security like a big bully.

“It takes more effort to be negative than it does to be positive”

Of course, those same shit-talkers probably get just as aggravated reading my silly sally world of rainbows and sunshine —lol…

The pool world, I’m sad to admit is full of bad seeds. Shit talkin’ and hustlin’. These are the impressions the general public have of pool and pool players. This does NOT define everyone in pool. There are plenty of really incredible people that give me constant reinforcement that there is some hope of the pool world erasing it’s stigma.

“being miserable and treating other people like dirt is every New Yorkers god given right!”

That’s craptastic!  woohoo to freedom of crappines!  yeah.  😛

Every industry, every sport, every family – the world has these downer people….

Surround yourself with positive people who want to see you succeed, who bring encouragement to your life and the lives of people around them. Surround yourself with your best chance at happiness and don’t assume that that MUST come at the expense of someone else.

Being so much older than me, TR has learned to handle the children of the pool world and simply turn a blind eye and a deaf ear to all their crap; a skill I am still trying to master.  I get defensive about people I care for. I don’t agree with putting someone down just to put them down. That’s just ugly to me and thus, SuperGail to the rescue!  Whether that’s a strength or a weakness is still debatable.

It’s funny how some use the excuse of “speaking the truth” to attack people.

I think a distinction should be made—sticking up for something you believe in or you think is wrong is totally cool. The only way to make anything better is trial and error and the constructive criticism that judges these tests.

However, there’s a right way and a wrong way to get your point across … wrong is deliberately trying to hurt someone’s feelings, belittling their accomplishments and handling it in general with the maturity of a 12-year old bully… eh!

An example:

“I hate the way you run a tournament. You suck at it! You’re a cheat. You’re a thief. I need f’in tables you CS. You should be hated by all! Bleep bleep bleep bleep bleep”

Oooooor….

“Hey, you know, I was disappointed with “x” situation and before I jump to any conclusions, maybe you could explain “y” to me.”


So as I lay in bed one night, TR says, “instead of letting all their meanness eat away at you, why don’t you pray for them?”

………I looked at him like he had three heads….

He explained that shitty people like company, they hate being alone, so they solicit people by antagonizing them. As hard as it is, don’t let them win. Don’t stoop to their level because then you’re no better than them. Be a filter.

So we prayed for the people — the same people that I was griping about earlier we prayed …. and you know what?   It felt a lot better praying for them to find the goodness in their life, than it did venting about their lack thereof.

Paulie: [talking about Adrian] You like her?
Rocky: Sure, I like her.
Paulie: What’s the attraction?
Rocky: I dunno… she fills gaps.
Paulie: What’s ‘gaps’?
Rocky: I dunno, she’s got gaps, I got gaps, together we fill gaps.

TR   <- my gap filler.

So during my movie marathon-Sunday today, Ghostbusters was on and I saw a clip of the  NYC skyline circa 1984 and there stood the twin towers in the distance….

The bigger picture sometimes gets forgotten as we are consumed by the negative energy around us.  None of the crap you encounter on a daily basis really matters…in comparison to the world, none of this even hits “small potatoes” status… there’s much stronger hate, much more aggressive evil, and much bigger loss.

A reality check on this is sometimes necessary to put things into perspective.  I must remember that when in the company of the bullies.

All we can do is check on our conscience every now and ask: (shameless thievery from The Bucket List!)

“1) Have you found joy in your life?

2) Has your life brought joy to others?”

Filter out the drama, and find the joy in your life.

My right-at-this-moment joy?

KISS_OF_DEATH-KOD09---48I’m going on a road trip with 3 of my KOD girls in July! Olga, Borana, Emily and I are going to Bristol, TN for the Satellite Tour stop July 10th thru 12th. The Vegas experience really changed our relationship as a team and as individual players. We’re kinda like 6 sisters there for support, comfort and advice.

Side note:  Gotta send a shout out to Ms. B for taking down the Tri-State this past weekend….booyah! CHECK OUT THE ARTICLE!!!

trAnywho….PoolDawg has this awesome fantasy pool game they are running where you pick your top 8 girls competing and let the games begin — Let me tell you that Frank, he’s a genius!! What a cute idea!!! It’s free, it’s fun and there are prizes!! woohoo!

So go to the site, register and start picking!!! KOD! KOD! KOD! Lol….Frank’s Fantasy Fun – Bristol Event! <- Click ME!!!!

I’m gonna do my best to ignore the ugly people and focus on the ones that continue to promote themselves, their peers, the game and life in a way that reflects good energy, good humor, good period ….

and the people that don’t???

They now motivate me — they’re my jackals and hyenas ….

~ by g2 on June 23, 2009.

5 Responses to “Getting Stronger…..”

  1. Solid words Ms. G Squared. Hopefully I don’t fall in the bad seed category, although I will admit I have the maturity level of a 12 year old boy… 😉

    Looking forward to watching you and the other KOD ladies on the stream in a couple of weeks.

  2. You are more of a rose amongst weeds … with some sunshine, watered down sappy hoopla and loving attention (especially if it’s from pretty ladies), you eventually show your true colors.

    Live Streaming? There’s gonna be live streaming?!?!?! Dun dun duuuun … Hopefully I’m steering clear of that bad boy!!

  3. Thanks to ALL my girls for the autographed photo!! I can’t WAIT to see Ali on Friday, and I look forward to seeing all of you when I come to NY to visit!! Keep up the great work with your column, even an old lady appreciates your wise words!!

  4. I love this article because it is so true. Thanks for the support Gail… you are one of a few!!! I always got your back too 🙂

  5. I love reading your posts. Your stories always brighten my day. I know that keeping positive is the best approach, but occassionally I slip. Thanks for the help keeping me on the right path.

    Best of luck in Tenn to all of you.

Leave a Reply

 
