Steamin’ Demon

First a recommendation – Check out NYCGrind.com as they have been doing some excellent coverage of the US Open & frankly, I just look forward to seeing what these innovative reporters will come up with next!!  Cool videos, great recaps, awesome photography & I’m sure a mash up video of the entire event will be available for our amusement post-US Open.  If you attended the event, there’s a chance you could be a SUPERSTAR in their video! 

~~~~

So it’s one of those entries — I must release the demon that crawled in my ears, causing my peaceful lips to spew venom. Hiisssssssss….

anger-managementI must first begin with the pool players I am NOT referring to.  Those players that come to a tournament, play the game, don’t cause problems, don’t argue, just enjoy the fruits of others labor & if they have a suggestion, comment or even complaint, it’s delivered in a calm, mature, respectful manner.  They appreciate the hard work that has been done to provide them with an atmosphere that’s competitive, thoughtful, organized & insist that we continue on for the good of their lives as well as the lives of so many. 

Correction does much, but encouragement does more. Encouragement after censure is as the sun after a shower.  ~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Now for the others — the self righteous players that truly believe that not only does life revolve around them, but so does the Earth, our Sun, our galaxy & above all God.  In fact, they ARE God, in human form – I’m quite sure. 

tourney For the most part, I truly enjoy working with the Tour – I love seeing the players that come week after week and watch them improve.  I love interacting with everyone, love the development of the tour as it molds into a lifestyle that strives to benefit the masses rather than the few. 

As we pick our sportsmen of the year for this season, I smile.  It’s by far my favorite award to give & IMHO, the most prestigious of them all. 

The nominations for that award provide therapy for the entry I currently write.

So often I’ll be playing a match during one of the Predator 9-ball Tournaments and will look out across the room and feel such gratification as I see so many enjoying themselves and knowing I had so much to do with that.   

This keeps me coming back, it keeps my focus forward, keeps me smiling & makes me more driven to constantly seek improvement.

How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.” ~ Anne Frank

So why then am I plagued by the whiners?  Is it because their voices are so full of crap that I can do nothing but smell the stench of their poopy mouth?  These people I refer to have done ZERO for the sport!  They focus on their own game and do NOTHING to promote the sport, spread it to other areas, increase pool’s awareness &/or produce something for others to enjoy.  They just show up, complain, play, make others miserable & win some/lose some.  Leeches… sucking away what life the game breathes.

Some men aren’t looking for anything logical. They can’t be bought, bullied, reasoned or negotiated with. Some men just want to watch the world burn. ~ Alfred, Batman

 These are the guys that curse into the crowd, lose and wanna fight their opponents (bruised ego syndrome), always try to get away with stuff, cheat, slow play, argue … I mean just seriously bored people in life that create havoc as they channel their inner Jerry Springer.  Like pool needs anymore Jerry Springers-Charm School Dropouts.

I know it’s unlike me to talk so down but damn!  I’m tired.  It’s a lot of sacrifice that often goes unnoticed. This isn’t about pity, it’s about appreciation. It’s like some people think, "you should be doing more, for less!" 

Oh :p~ – go PRACTICE you poophead! 

Go do something positive for the game, for a player, for someone other than yourself!  Go show someone how to play, feel the high of helping another.  Make yourself useful.  Be proactive not passive.  Be optimistic, not pessimistic.  Be an inspiration, not a desecration!   

As diplomatically as I can, I say – Talk more with your cues, & less with your mouth! NINCOMPOOPHEADs

The best performance improvement is the transition from the non-working state to the working state.

Ah, I feel a tad better.  Thank you for being a sounding board as I perhaps channel my own inner Springer. 🙂

~ by g2 on October 22, 2009.

5 Responses to “Steamin’ Demon”

  1. GG, you’re a very entertaining writer – LOVE your blogs!

  2. Gail, GAIL! I couldn’t agree with you more! I’m on sabbatical from the local Saturday night tournament I run (with my buddy Chris) because of this very topic! The people that are almost always in the money are the ones that complain week after week about everything; “The weight’s not right. I always draw the big guns first, Me? sharking?” and on and on and on. They ruin it for the people that are in it for the challenge that tournament play brings. Three weeks ago it looked like it was gonna be a slow night, only 8 regulars showed up. Then out of the blue there are 11 people entered I had never seen before. You would have thought I sentenced them to twenty years hard labor when they got their weight! I just got bitch slapped by a…well, by a dozen donuts! Only twice in the lasr 4 months has someone said “you could use some help”. They all want to play and complain but that’s about it. I wish I could say I felt better– maybe I will in a month or so.

  3. This is the single biggest problem with professional pool. There are far too many pros who think that everything should be given to them just because they’re good players. These are the same guys who get pissy when they don’t get any sponsorship jack but don’t understand that in order to get sponsored you need to actually DO SOMETHING for your sponsor (something other than getting in fistfights, starting flame wars on public boards and getting hummers from trannies, all of which are greatly appreciated by sponsors of course). And don’t even get me started on the way some of these guys treat newbies, bangers and league players.

    Ultimately they don’t care if the game grows or not. All they really care about is their picture with a sad fist full of 20’s for the back pages of Inside Pool or the money they can hustle from some poor unsuspecting sap. Not that I feel strongly about this topic or anything…

  4. Max & Andy, I wrote this reply 4 times and deleted every one of them b/c none of them fully explained my detest on this subject. I hear so much verbal diarrhea mostly from TOP players — the amateur actually GET IT & appreciate the hard work. High level players just pull out their pocket lint and think, “this can’t be MY fault, must be someone else’s? Who can I blame for this? I know, I’ll blame the people providing me with one of the few tournaments in my area! YEAH, gotta be their fault, b/c without them I’d still be broke but wouldn’t have to come to terms with my game still getting me NO WHERE!”

  5. Hey, been reading your blog for a while. I just saw a poll on http://www.pooltables.com where you vote on your favorite trick shot video and in return, you can win a free pool table. The contest has some sweet shots. I voted and thought this was cool and wanted to let you know about it in case you think some of your other readers might like it. You should check it out and see what you think. Maybe one of us will actually win the table : )
    Keep up the good posts!

    Madison Hawkins
    http://www.undergroundmusicreviews.com

Leave a Reply

 
