Free Your Mind, and the Rest will Follow

pics - EGR 2 My pool philosophy’s only constant is to keep evolving.  Never stop being a student of the game.  There is always something you can learn, something you don’t know and something that could change your path in pool forever.  Keep an open mind to anything.

When Tony and I first started working on my game (before we really knew each other), a well-respected instructor of the game saw me struggling one day on a shot, and proceeded to help.  I listened intently, soaking up the free lesson like a dry sponge with one eye glued to the door in case Tony walked in as I didn’t want to offend him.

Well, Tony did walk in, walked up, and said, “Get whatever you can from this man, he really knows his stuff!”

Knowing Tony now, it doesn’t surprise me, but at the time, I was surprised!  I finished my mini lesson, walked up to Tony and said, “I’m sorry, I hope you don’t think I was like, “cheating” on you, or anything”  He laughed at me and then got very serious!

Tony said never turn down advice, especially at the best price, FREE! You’ll learn some of the best secrets of the game if you keep an open-mind to all levels of play.  You don’t have to take all the advice you listen to.  Some will be wrong, some will be total crap, but some will be great and maybe you’ll hear/learn something that’ll help you leap off the plateau & onto your next mountain.  Too many players have their pride or ego riding front and center and think they know it all. Guess what, I see Tony, Mika, tons of pros, learn new things all the time.  There’s always something you can learn.

The best masters are constant students. poolsynergy4

Efren Reyes used to watch amateurs play to learn new things.  Amateurs?!?!  Huh?  Why?

He’d watch the amateurs miss the ball and see where both balls ended up.  Clever Positioning. They missed a ball and slop in another.  Creative Pocketing. See them inadvertently perform a two-way shot that helped them win.  Versatile Strategy.

He’d witness shots he’d NEVER see the pros do because, they’re pros, they don’t take the wild shots.  But he’d learn from these amateur’s mistakes and build his knowledge of the game from a perspective few take.  Fluking balls in, missing shots and still leaving safes, faulty kicks, luck, fortune, bad luck and errors, Efren learned to take these failures and mishaps and grew a knowledge bank  few would think of or even be willing to entertain.

These PoolSynergy columns have so much value in them, NOT because we are all the Hemingway’s of Pool or because we are the Efren, Busta, or Mika of the game, but because you the reader are getting free insight into so many different perspectives of the game, different backgrounds, different skill levels, different goals.  The deliverance of knowledge by all the people and players that have affected our lives.  You can soak it all up and use what will work for you!  Free your mind ….

So g2 pool philosophy – check my ego at the door and soak up any knowledge I can.

There is one pool philosophy I TRY to follow AT A CONSTANT – be a good person in this game.  Don’t be a jerk.  I know many feel this game requires some level of scumbag-ism to be any good, but there are plenty of examples that prove that this isn’t true.  Tony, Ralf, Alison, Thorsten.  You don’t have to be a jerk to win.

To be able under all circumstances to practice five things constitutes perfect virtue; these five things are gravity, generosity of soul, sincerity, earnestness and kindness.  ~ Confucius

Respect yourself, respect your opponent, respect the game.

~ by g2 on May 15, 2010.

4 Responses to “Free Your Mind, and the Rest will Follow”

  1. One thing I’ve always taken into account, is that you will ALWAYS acquire new knowledge in pool. As in other sports, I agree that knowledge is more powerful when the players are open to other perspectives. I myself have enjoyed learning new things by playing different games. Some examples would be, learning combinations and your inside game from playing straight pool, position and defensive play from 9ball, as well as getting a good grasp of the the rails and diamonds through 3 cushion billiards. The list goes on and on. There’s just way too much knowledge to have from this game without sharing it with others. Its a good feeling when I teach a D player how to kick certain shots.

    Unfortunately, in all good sports and activity, there are people who inherit what I like to call the “shit don’t stink” trait. These are the players that think they’re too good to show a lower level player how to perform or execute certain problems on the table. I honestly think at least half of these people are this way due to the same attitude given to them when they themselves were just learning. Many people reach a certain level or speed and figure, “Well, no one taught me shit, so why should I help you?” I can understand this mentality to a degree, but at some point when do you ask yourself, “Is this really me? Why am I being such a prick? This kid only wants to learn.”

    Hopefully more and more players will stop and ask themselves that same question more often.

  2. thanks for ur article this month smassy! it was gatorlicious. 😛

  3. Another awesome post, GG! I loved it – very insightful, heartfelt, and helpful!

  4. Exactly! And that’s why you’re the 2010 BCAPL Women’s Open Champ!

Leave a Reply

 
