WTF? I’d Hit That …Kiss of Death

I'd Hit That - NAPLI can’t really say that I have a favorite game in pool.  I respect Straight Pool the most, enjoy 9/10-ball while 8-ball & 3 Cushion color my world pretty.  I go through phases liking some more than others.  But when I think back to my times in pool, I truly smile most playing any game of pool …… with a team. 

poolsynergy4Whether it’s my Team 9-ball team WTF?, Kiss of Death or my 8-ball team I’d Hit That, I just enjoy the competitive nature of pool mixed with camaraderie.  Though my heart pounds out of my chest when watching my teammates in crucial moments, win or lose, that vulnerability is AWESOME.  That pressure is motivating and has provided the best lessons I’ve learned in competing under intense moments. 

“I am a member of a team, and I rely on the team, I defer to it and sacrifice for it, because the team, not the individual, is the ultimate champion.”  ~ Mia Hamm quotes

Team 9-ball - WTF?As someone who’s played on a team since the 3rd grade (softball till college,) I feel team play really builds a person’s character both on and off the table.  Learning to interact with others in a productive way amidst highly tense moments … that’s LIFE!  And you learn a lot about someone in how they interact on a team. 

Sports do not build character. They reveal it.”  ~John Wooden

Are they a leader or a follower?  Are they strong under pressure or do they crumble?  Do they want to play or do they cower at the challenge?  Are they supportive of the team or the first to call out a failure?  Are they a team player or more self motivated? 

Being able to work together with so many personality differences, is a challenge.  Good team players generally make great partners in life because they have learned and proven they can work toward a common goal TOGETHER.   

People who work together will win, whether it be against complex football defenses, or the problems of modern society.”   ~Vince Lombardi

Team play comes with emotional risks you don’t get with individual sports – And they can either destroy you, or drive you. 

The more vulnerable you are, the more intense the emotional highs and lows become.

It’s one thing to look yourself in the mirror & say, “I Lost!” … but to hold the weight of failure in front of your teammates … wrestling with the torture of disappointing your teammates, ripping away the team’s moment of glory … I can speak from personal experience, it’s a hard pill to swallow. 

KOD - WilliamFuentes.comOr watching a teammate fall short, it’s hard to stomach both the team loss & knowing the torment & guilt they are feeling.     

But team play is also so much more rewarding with victory.   Team wins feel AMAZING!  Knowing no one could have done it on their own and it took the collaboration of everyone’s attack to defeat the enemy.  Those hugs and chants, smiles and cheers … those memories bring back the biggest smiles and nostalgia.  

The team wins of my career have all been better than any individual match I’ve ever won! 

~ by g2 on April 15, 2011.

2 Responses to “WTF? I’d Hit That …Kiss of Death”

  1. And just because you understand all this and putting a lot of work on game and teams YOU ARE THE WINNER!
    Thats why your teams winning most of matches and tournaments !
    Thats why Kiss of Death WON in 2009 !
    You are my great friend Gail, beautiful person and person from BIG letter!
    Thanks that i have you in my life!
    My CAP:O)
    OG
    love ya

  2. I have always felt the most pressure when competing for more than just myself. If I lose for me… oh well. But it’s not that easy if I cause the loss for a partner or god forbid, a whole team, lol. Fine post.

Leave a Reply

 
