Resurrection

Table9and10At-ABC-1-7-2012---26For 2 1/2 months, I’ve been benched.  With that time I have gotten so much work done, I’ve redirected my goals in life, I’ve begun a work out routine through physical therapy & more importantly, I’ve reconnected with my family and friends.

While this wasn’t a self-induced hiatus, it has put a number of areas of my life into perspective.  It was an unknowingly healthy retreat.

I have a love/hate relationship with pool and after the break up in November, the last 10 weeks of distance allowed me to remember so much of what my life was before pool.  I’m not gonna lie, it’s been kinda nice to NOT play pool.  It’s helped me put pool into a healthier compartment mentally.  While improving in pool is an important hobby in my life, it’s NOT a priority.  Just writing that feels, traitorous, but healthy. 

Like all relationships, I’m happier in life when pool is a part of my life, not my entire life.

I love this sport.  I want desperately for it to be respected as a sport and it’s elite applauded and admired.  Will this happen in my lifetime?  I don’t know if it will happen at all, ever, but I do hope.

IMG_0103For now, I can only focus on what I can do to expand pool’s reach and I’m quite proud of how I’ve handled this responsibility.  I feel through the tour and the league in particular, Tony & I are making a positive impact on pool in our area.  Too many people only drink from the fountain and never think of ways to replenish it. 

You will find as you look back upon your life that the moments when you have truly lived are the moments when you have done things in the spirit of love. ~ Henry Drummond

~ by g2 on January 18, 2012.

One Response to “Resurrection”

  1. Come out the ashes!

Leave a Reply

 
